About the Republic of Kazakhstan

About county

PDF Print Email

Republic of Kazakshtan is geographically located in the North-West of Central Asia and South-East of Eastern Europe. The land perimeter of the National border is more than 12,000 kilometers. By territory, it is 9th largest country in the world.


Kazakhstan borders with Russia in North-West, China in East, and its Southern neighbors are Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan. The waters of the inland Caspian and Aral seas wash country’s coastal areas.


The population of Kazakhstan is just under 17 million among which there are more or less 130 different races and nationalities. At the same time, 43% of the population are villagers and reside in rural areas.


National Language- Kazakh.


Total country’s area- 2,724,900 Sq. Km (9th biggest country in the world)


Kazakhstan is a unitary state with a presidential-parliamentary form of government. The President- Nursultan Nazarbayev.


There are 16 administrative- territorial units within Kazakhstan. Out of those 16, fourteen are the provinces and the other two are the cities of republican subordination- Almaty and Astana (Country’s Capital).


Kazakshtan is a country with very rich historical and cultural backgrounds. Located in the heart of Eurasia, Kazakhstan happened to be at the crossroads of ancient civilizations of the world. Inevitably it happened to be at the crossroads of transport routes, social and economic, cultural and ideological relations between East and West, North and South, between Europe and Asia, between the largest state formations of the Eurasian continent.


Kazakhstan’s national currency- Kazakhstani tenge.


Kazakhstan’s GDP in 2016 is calculated to be about 12,000 US dollars per capita.


Kazakhstan’s domestic policies are declared as followed: increase in citizens’ welfare, statehood strengthening, society modernization and the unity of the intra and inter-ethnic harmony.


The Republic of Kazakhstan has very good diplomatic relations with United Nations and all the countries affiliated with it. While the President and our Parliament determine Kazakhstan’s foreign policy, Ministry of Foreign Affairs puts it into practice.


Kazakhstan is a member of the WTO, OSCE, CIS, CSTO, CACO, the Organization of the Islamic Conference, EurAsEC, SCO, CICA, the organization - Council of Turkic countries, Turkic military council, individual partnership plan with NATO (since 1994), as well as a member of the Eurasian Economic Union.